Sandy

Is was very long eleven days since we lost power and all connections with the world. Although I had a crank radio, but my hand was too tired to wind it. Landscape behind my window was looking dramatic. Just yesterday tall strong oaks were rustling their leafs high in the blue sky. Today they were down, broken, leaning on houses, wires or crossing the roads. I didn’t see the pictures of the devastation of Sandy on TV, just horror stories on my radio. My house was among the lucky ones that survived during the storm. There was very small but warm area in the house around the wood stove and we were able to cook on top of it. I loved my hot soups more than ever. Within a couple of days we cooked and consumed 60% of the contents of our freezer. Like wild animals we were trying to store as much as we could fit in our guts before winter. During the day time I was knitting my project. About six o’clock it was dark already and eyes were adapting to night time vision. How much one could read or do anything with a candle light, not much. Eight o’clock was a bed time for us. We were not sleeping, just talking about our memories under down comforters. How often do we do it? Thank god, our children’s families were warm and save. All these long lasting evening I was thinking of my mother. She was seventeen when she survived 900 days in the siege of Leningrad. It was very cold and long Russian winter. A little piece of bread that city provided for each person was the only meal during one sometimes a few days. She burned all furniture and books in her apartment to stay warm, sold all valuables for extra food to feed her sister. Her baby sister was in the hospital with swollen limbs and bleeding gums from starvation. She ate glue, grass, leather belt just to survive (compare to my hot soup every day). I was so cold but It helped to think that could be worse.

Still no power, but there is a power on my computer, I feel it is necessary for me to empty my mind and post it on my blog. 

Did Sandy change your way of thinking about life?

ImageImage

4 thoughts on “Sandy

  1. Galina, it’s helpful to know what you are going through. Please let me know if there is anything this old west-coaster can do to help you.

  2. Beautifully recounted, Galina. I was also 12 days with no power or heat. It went down to 33 degrees in my kitchen, with maybe another 8 degrees in the living room by the fireplace. I was lucky in that my dad had stored lots of firewood in the basement. Even though he passed in 1981 (!) the wood still burned. Thank God! It was a long, long 12 days! Have power now but no internet. I think of your mother and her ordeal in St. Petersburg often. You had told me the story years back when we were painting. It was a nightmare, but if we are still here, I guess we were lucky. I lost my big oak tree, Galina. It still breaks my heart. Glad you guys are OK!

  3. Galina, I really feel for you guys over that side of the world. It’s amazing how we cope in a crises. So glad you have a roof over your head and some warmth. It must have been so hard for your mother back then and it’s worse because its wintertime, the cold is what I wouldn’t be able to handle. In Australia I have been through a few cyclones, which are just like hurricanes but revolve around the opposite way, but are just as devastating. The only difference is it is stinking hot when they come and unbearable when the power is off for days on end. The food goes off very quickly and we live on tinned food. Each season we have a cyclone kit fully stocked just in case. We have been lucky each time because we live on the east coast of Aust. And have never lost our home, but have experienced damage with trees down etc. Good luck and I hope and pray the power comes back on soon and people can rebuild their lives. Lyn

    • Thank you to all for warm support. We lost a few big beautiful oaks, and the prices to remove are doubled since the spring time. Linda, perhaps you remember two tall oaks on the back of my house, it is a different landscape now.
      Lyn, I feel already warmer with your massage sent from Australia! It is a good idea to have fully stocked emergency kit. Right now we have only batteries and crank radio. What do you keep in your kit?

Leave a Reply

